Uren leads Perenjori Day 1

Posted on

Day 1 of the Gturbo Rod Hatter Memorial, Perenjori 360 is in the books with Harleigh Uren in his Pro 2 leading the way. With overnight rains dampening the track it didn’t take there were early concerns of it being a wet race. It didn’t take long once prologue got underway for the action to heat up and the dust to fly

Photo by Brett Sandells

Phil Shepley was quickest out of the box on prologue scorching to the quickest time in the immaculate Digrite Pro 2. Harleigh Uren was second fastest making it a 1-2 for the trucks. Colin Doney overcame an early spin on his prologue run to clock in 3rd with Jared Percival the first prolite in 4th. Murray Kifer lit the timing sheets up in his X3 to be 5th quickest with red hot action throughout the field

As the crews prepped for section 1, Shepley was forced to withdraw with a rear main leaking. This would elevate Uren to 1st and a position he would not relinquish. Colin Doney clocked in 2nd quickest whilst Gavin Rodgers was the big mover. Having started 10th after being seeded, he blitzed the 120km section to move into 3rd outright. There is a logjam of competitors between 3rd and 8th with those crews split by less than 1 minute, setting the scene for an exciting Day 2

Photo by Brett Sandells

Paul Nappy holds the lead in Pro Buggy, whilst Deon Visagie is the overnight sportslite leader. Karl Richardson battled issues with his Navara but finished both laps, whilst Haydn Hamilton pushed his naturally aspirated Polaris to the limit to lead SXS Sport. Barry Schultz in his Jeep has a stranglehold over Production 4wd heading Aaron Griffiths in the RCR Prado. Peer Horn had a consistent run to lead Extreme 4wd over Mark Murray who has transmission issues and spent most of the race in 2wd

Photo by Brett Sandells

Tomorrow another gruelling 240kms of racing awaits to see who will lead the 2020 Western Australian Off Road Racing Championship after Round 1

Results can be found here https://my.raceresult.com/147120/results?lang=en