Updated WAORC points after Gas Dash

Posted on

The points after the first 2 rounds of the 2017 CAMS, Carnarvon Motel WAORC are locked in and its a 2 horse race at the moment for the outright positions!

Jared Percival and Mal Yeardley are locked in an arm wrestle and will be hoping to cement their positions at the front of the field at the upcoming Marsue Transport Bencubbin 400. This event hosted by WAORRA has been a happy hunting ground for the Prolite competitors and they will again be hoping that they can charge their way to the front of the field. Extreme 2wd ace Colin Doney sits in 3rd outright in the current points chase and will be hoping to close the deficit as we head towards the mid season break

In the classes Marcus Wells leads the Pro Buggy class after 2 strong drives. Jared Percival leads Mal Yeardley by the narrowest of margins in Prolite whilst Daniel Allen has a commanding lead in the Super 1650 class. Colin Doney leads current Extreme 2wd class champion Greg Pickersgill in their class battle whilst youngster Matthew Beck sits on top of the scoreboard for the Performance 2wd class. There is only 70 points seperating Graeme Bentink and Steven Baxter in the Production 4wd class, with the Toyota pilots hoping to hold off a charging Ben Armstrong. Mitchell Davies is the current points leader in Extreme 4wd, with Brad Krepp and Mark Murray and Dylan James within striking distance

Check out the full points score here



Entries Open for Marsue Transport Bencubbin 400

Posted on

Entries are now open for Round 3 of the 2017 CAMS, Carnarvon Motel WAORRA. Fresh from running the Duke of York Narrogin Chase Short course event WAORRA are pulling out all stops to ensure that the annual trek to Bencubbin is bigger and better again

With a new interesting format set to spice up the competition the action should be red hot! A short’minor course’ as well as the longer ‘major course’ will create an interesting mix of all out sprint as well as enduro conservation. Not only this, but as well as being the 3rd round of the WAORC, the Marsue Transport Bencubbin 400 also has a multi club component and makes up Round 2 of the 2017 WAORRA Club Championship Series

For more information follow the event on Facebook or head on over to the WAORRA website

Supplementary Regulations

Online Entry

Entry List


#583 – Best Presented Tin Top at Gas Dash

Posted on Updated on

The debut event of the WA Off Road Junior Development Program was nothing short of eventful. A stressful lead up to the event getting the car ready as well as teething problems gave youngster Matt Beck a taste of what off road racing is really about. Whilst the vehicle only managed to complete 3 of the 5 scheduled laps, they were awarded the best presented tin top award. The ‘Kinga’ has made its mark on the Gas Dash and written a small piece of history which will no doubt go down in Gas Dash folklore!

#269 – Best Presented Buggy at Gas Dash

Posted on Updated on

Daniel Allen in his #269 Super 1650 buggy has won the best presented buggy award at the Horizon Power Kickstarters Gascoyne Dash. In his first run of the 2017 CAMS, Carnarvon Motel WAORC season Allen capped off a great weekend with a 1st in class as well as the best presented buggy award

With a solid points haul, Allen is sitting pretty at the top of the class standings heading into the 3rd round of the 2017 CAMS Carnarvon Motel WAORC at Bencubbin

Kirkwood and Michelmore win Intense Contingency Prize

Posted on Updated on

The Intense LED Australia Contingency Prize for Round 2 of the 2017 CAMS, Carnarvon Motel WAORC has been won by Gary Kirkwood and David Michelmore. Whilst they rolled their #721 Pajero which put their event to an end, the crew was fortunate enough to win the LED lightbar as a part of the contingency program

Congratulations to the #721 team and thank you to Intense LED Australia for their support of the series

Murray wins the Oricom Contingecy Prize

Posted on Updated on

The Oricom UHF CB Contingency Prize for Round 2 of the 2017 CAMS, Carnarvon Motel WAORC has been won by Mark Murray in his Diesel powered Nissan Patrol. It was a successful weekend for the #866 crew as Murray also took out the Extreme 4wd class, well and truly making amends for Round 1 when their race came to an abrupt holt after collecting a tree

Congratulations Mark and thank you to Oricom UHF CB for their support of the series

Schoen wins an enthralling Gas Dash

Posted on

Troy Schoen has made it 2 different winners in the first 2 rounds of the 2017 CAMS Carnarvon Motel WAORC. In an impressive display, Schoen maintained his overnight lead to win the Horizon Power, Kickstarters Gascoyne Dash for 2017.

Sundays first section of 2 laps saw Troy Schoen pick up where he left off taking the section by just under 30 seconds from a charging Harleigh Uren. After issues on day 1 dropped him back through the pack, the One Speed Off Road Racing driver fought his way through the dust to beat Mal Yeardley and Jared Percival who were locked in a tight tussle in their prolites. Locals Brett and Kevin Renton lost the right front wheel which put paid to their 2017 assault whilst throughout the field there were tight battles all round. Unfortunately for #721 Gary Kirkwood and David Michelmore rolled their Production 4wd Pajero putting them out of the event

As the competitors went out for Section 2 the intensity appeared to be raised to another level! Schoen continued to lead out front, but after a short pit stop at the end of lap 1 to their lead on the road had shrunk to just 30 seconds. Uren was charging in the dust, but unfortunately mechanical gremlins took him out of the race whilst a podium position was in his grasp. Mal Yeardley and Jared Percival were going toe to toe for 2nd and 3rd outright as well as the Prolite class win, trading lap times in what was to be a very close finish. In the end it was Jared Percival who would storm through to take 2nd outright, with Yeardley not far behind in 3rd. In Super 1650, Daniel Allen had a clean run in challenging conditions to finish 1st in class, a great result for the team. Darryl Hardman won the Extreme 4wd class Mark Murray and Mitchell Davies waged a collossal battle for class honours with Murray being the victor in his Turbo Diesel powered Patrol. The Production 4wd battle turned into a race of attrition. Ben Armstrong cracked the radiator and didnt make it out for Section 3, whilst Steve Baxter blew a motor taking him out of the class lead. Graeme Bentink inherited the top spot, only to break his front shock mounts. Chris May was the only vehicle in the class left running, but a DNF on the last lap handed the class win back to Graeme Bentink in his GTurbo sponsored LandCruiser. Matthew Beck endured a difficult day in the WA Off Road Junior Development Performance 2wd, but a strong finish the event saw him take out the class win in an awesome debut effort

There is now a brief hiatus from the WAORC as the multiclub event, the Narrogin Chase held by WAORRA is run in May, before the Bencubbin 360 sees the third round of the 2017 CAMS, Carnarvon Motel WAORC in early June