2021 WAORC Champions are crowned!

Posted on Updated on

The 2021 finale at Kalgoorlie was billed as an epic battle between the rookie and the veteran as Jayden Grewar and Jared Percival were set to lock horns in combat one last time. With the 2021 WAORC on the line, Jayden was chasing a the perfect end to a season of firsts. Could he win the championship at his first ever attempt and in doing so be the first ever outright champion to have competed in the SXS Turbo class. Percival however was looking to add another championship to his tally and to date had put together a strong season with podium finishes and class results. Locked on equal points with 1 round to go, the scene was set for an epic battle

Photo by Dakar Press Team Australia

The first blow would go to Percival, the Prolite competitor clocking in 12th outright, whilst Grewar would be starting out of 18th. Section 1 would be a crucial one in the outcome of the championship. The 618 Raw Racing Canam flew up the leader board to 5th outright whilst Percival was down in 18th outright having being dealt a 5 minute penalty for an overtaking infringement

Photo by Dakar Press Team Australia

Section 2 would see Percival attempt to tip the scales back in his favour, launching an attack that would see him clock in 5th fastest time for the section, whilst Grewar managed to go 8th quickest. The race was finely in the balance with one final lap to go and one slight slip from either contender would have major championship ramifications

Photo by Dakar Press Team Australia

In the end it was elation for Jayden Grewar, who went 7th fastest and locked in the 4th outright he needed to take out the WAORC. Percival put up a valiant effort however had some issues on his way to 15th outright, which would leave him down in 11th outright for the race

Photo by Dakar Press Team Australia

Jayden Grewar in turn makes history as the first ever SXS competitor to win the championship outright and if that wasn’t impressive enough has managed to do it in his rookie season. 2 x 5th places, a 4th and an impressive 3rd outright at the Gas Dash underlined the pace and consistency of the CanAm X3.

Our champions for outright and classes are as follows:

Outright – Jayden Grewar & Justyn Grewar
Pro Buggy – Ken Styles & Josh Ellis
Prolite – Jared Percival & Haylee Cowling
Sportslite – Deon Visagie & Jamie Tilbrook
Extreme 2wd – Harleigh Uren & Kerry Yaxley
Performance 2wd – Mathew Beck & Tate Dawson
Production 4wd – Nic Jennings & Sebastian Jennings
Extreme 4wd – Peer Horn & Jim Ingham
SXS Turbo – Jayden Grewar & Justyn Grewar

Full Results can be found here