2 from 2 for Trewhella

Posted on Updated on

The Marsue Transport, Make Tracks WA Bencubbin 2022 has been run and won with Adam Trewhella backing up his early season win at Perenjori by taking another victory at Bencubbin. A strong field of 50 competitors had entered Bencubbin, with cool and clear conditions meaning that there would be some great racing on offer. There was also a unique format ensuring the return to racing at Bencubbin would be one to remember. Day 1 was a Prologue, followed by a 70km dash to the nearby town of Gabbin before being escorted back to Bencubbin. Day 2 would see a dash to Gabbin in the morning, with cars on arrival being held in Parc Ferme and then returning. The final section was held on Sunday afternoon and the cars would be escorted to Gabbin before one last blast back to the finish in Bencubbin

Prologue on Saturday morning was a close affair, with Troy Schoen and Adam Trewhella duking it out for the top spot. Schoen would put the #19 into pole position with a time of 9 minutes, 24.3 seconds which would be 1.6 seconds better than what Trewhella could manage. Jared Percival piloted his prolite to 3rd outright, whilst Jayden Grewar signalled his intentions to be quickest SXS and 5th outright. Just behind him was the quickest Extreme 2wd Trophy Truck of Brad Krepp. Whilst normally the dust free run at the front of the field is seen as a massive advantage, given that this was to be a brand new unseen track on the run to Gabbin, it remained to be seen if anyone could come from back in the field and make their way to the front

Schoen blasted out of the blocks on the way to Gabbin, with Trewhella and Percival on the hunt. Unfortunately for state champion Jayden Grewar, his great prologue would come undone, with clutch issues causing multiple belt failures. There were also some big movers and shakers in the field, Mark Cramer who had a DNF on prologue charged his way to the 4th quickest time, just under 3 seconds ahead of Brad Krepp in 5th and only 7 and a half seconds away from Percival who locked in 3rd. Up the front, Schoen was the first to make it to Gabbin, but Trewhella had charged into town 17.01 seconds quicker, giving him the section win. These tight gaps continued up and down the field with the gap being roughly a minute from Mark Wainwright, the quickest SXS in 6th outright, back to Karl Richardson, the 2nd Extreme 2wd over the line in 16th, This was some seriously even racing!

Sunday morning would have some still conditions and the rising sun causing havoc on visibility with the dust starting to hang. Trewhella would lead the field all the way into Gabbin, with his closest rival Schoen striking engine troubles and not making it to the sections halfway point. Again, Percival, Cramer and Krepp were locked in a tight battle for the podium places would also lock horns on the run home. Trewhella again went quickest for the section, with Percival 2nd, Krepp 3rd and Cramer home in 4th. Aaron Caldwell jumped into the SXS class lead and was sitting just 11 seconds ahead of Mal Yeardley on corrected time. Chris Dawes continued to lead the Extreme 4wd class as Darren Alexander also continued to lead the Sportslite class. Sean Beck in the Junior Development Kingswood a popular class leader in the Performance 2wd class

With it all to play for and just 70kms remaining, Trewhella once again made sure of his win going fastest in the final section to take out his 2nd outright win of the season in the KRT Contracting Pro Buggy. Jared Percival locked up 2nd outright to make it to his 2nd podium of the season whilst Brad Krepp made his way back to the podium in 3rd with another Extreme 2wd class win. Mal Yeardley was the fastest SXS home in 5th outright after a close battle with Caldwell in the final section. Darren Alexander won the Sportslite class in his Voodoo buggy, whilst Daniel Jones in the #883 Patrol would take out the Extreme 4wd class win after class leader Chris Dawes dropped out with broken steering in the final run home. Sean Beck also sealed the Performance 2wd win

Attention now turns to the Gascoyne Dash as the 3rd round of the WAORC on the last weekend in July, but what a fantastic race it has been at Bencubbin, with event organizers WAORRA putting a massive effort in on our first return to Bencubbin since 2019. Thanks must also go to event sponsors Marsue Transport and Make Tracks WA and the WAORC can’t wait to return to Bencubbin again in 2023

Full Results can be found here