Clucas wins maiden WAORC title

Posted on

The 2020 WAORC has now been run and won with the spectacular Kalgoorlie Desert Race making a fitting final event to the truncated 3 round season.

Whilst Shane Elphinstone took a strong win in the final race, it was Jake Clucas in his single seat prolite buggy who is WA #1 for 2020. His results of 3rd, 1st and battling his way to 9th at Kalgoorlie was enough to sew up his maiden title as well as the Prolite class for the year

2nd outright would go to the consistent Sean Fitzpatrick with navigator Brett Funneman who would also claim the outright navigators title. Sean’s SXS claimed 4th, 4th and 11th to seal an excellent season

3rd outright would go to Jason Galea in his CanAm X3 with his navigator Kiera Mann-Piercy claiming 2nd outright for the season. This duo missed the opening Perenjori race, but finished in 3rd and 6th outright across the final 2 races to rocket up the leaderboard

Rounding out the outright navigators podium is Michael Dodds who sat alongside Colin Bevan with 5th and 7th placed finishes across the final 2 races

Congratulations to all of the competitors and full points results including the class winners can be found here

Photos by Dakar Press Team Australia and Cagetec Racing