WAORC Points ahead of final round for 2022

Posted on

The 2022 WAORC is headed for one final showdown at the Black Diamond Drilling Kalgoorlie Desert Race, which is also doubling as the final round of the BFGoodrich Motorsport Australia Australian Off Road Racing Championship. With Three Springs being cancelled due to torrential rain making the track impassable, this will mean that the WAORC has been shortened to now be a 4 round series, with a competitors best 3 races to count

In the Outright Championship, the champion elect is Adam Trewhella, his results of 2 firsts and a second seeing him sit at the top of the tree. Jared Percival is sitting in second place in his prolite before a gaggle of SXS Pro’s Yeardley, Caldwell, Montgomery and Hutchinson rounding out the top 6. The Round 3 winner of the Gascoyne Dash Stephen Ketteridge-Hall sitting just behind in 7th place

Pro Buggy once again sees Adam Trewhella at the top of the pile, with Wayne Batson and Paul Nappy locked in equal second, whilst Troy Schoen would be hoping a little more luck and reliability will help him jump up into the top 2

Jared Percival leads the Prolite class, with Michael Davis his nearest contender. Davis is set to miss Kalgoorlie, so Ketteridge-Hall will be looking to take advantage of this in his absence

Extreme 2wd has Karl Richardson in the Dirt Motorsport Beetle leading the way over Brad Krepp. Krepp has strong form with a 3rd outright at Kalgoorlie las year and so will be hoping for another strong result to round out the year

Sean Beck holds a slender lead over Greg Pickersgill. A strong run for Pickersgill would see him overhaul Beck for the class championship, but the Junior Development Kingswood is in strong position to lock up another class championship

Extreme 4wd sees one of the closest class battles with all 6 of those to score points this season with a mathematical chance of taking the class win. Daniel Jones holds a slim margin over Daniel Fahey in the 2 very evenly matched Nissan GQ Patrols, whilst Chris Dawes will be on the hunt having found some serious form in his GU Patrol as the season has rolled on

SXS Pro with a mammoth 32 competitors having already scored points this season is by far the biggest class on the list. With the drop your worst round points system, there are 5 drivers in the hunt to take out the class championship. Mal Yeardley currently sits on top of the points, with Aaron Caldwell just behind. Paul Hutchinson is currently 3rd in class and the only remaining Polaris in contention for the class title. Paul Delacey sits 4th whilst Jake Montgomery is 5th and is the final contender in with a chance. Making this class battle extra spicy is that the Kalgoorlie race also doubles as a round of the Kincrome SXS Motorsport Australia Championship meaning that it will all be on the line in this final run

Sporstlite is another closely fought class with Darren Alexander, Wayne Holt, Joe Hawkins and Aaron Gates all a chance to take out the class title.

Whilst in Production 4wd, Graeme Bentink is the class leader Production 4wd and will be looking forward to taking on the AORC contenders.

In Super 1650 Aaron Dark holds the points lead in his Bullet Frame Buggy

Keep an eye out on both the WAORC and Kalgoorlie Desert Race socials to follow what will be an exciting round of the 2022 WAORC

Full Points can be found here